Pride.

My feet greet the ground with impatience,
get to the next tube stop and mill with the crowd
until we re-surface. To an absolute sea
of open arms. A calm and smiling mass awaits
you, baby strapped to the front.
Her eyes are wide open.
She’ll never remember the wars fought
for her to be able to be whatever she likes,
but I will remind her of the victories.
The celebration of acceptance,
one more step in a march toward justice and equality.
Music brings us all together and colours
explode with a warm hello.
So beyond proud that my daughter will know
that everyone is for themselves, no-one else
can break you down.
Today when I got home, I wondered why
my face ached under the corners of my eyes.
It was from smiling.

Leave a Reply

