Post-natally wounded

I walked home through rain so heavy
that it didn’t matter anymore. My toes are soft
with the wet of it. More than a spit.
Babies so small their eyes only half full,
fist wrapped round half my finger,
they clutch at a voice that shapes words
little identified as pronouns or verbs
just safety.

The pitch of that scream,
perfectly designed to cut at the seams
of me, I want to run away from the very idea
of something else needing me.
I’ve nothing left to give.
So i open myself to strange hands and cold metal,
ripping open the fuzzy green of the poppy
to unfurl the petals.
Hide me from it all, please,
put on the kettle.

Leave a Reply

