loss

 

If I am patient
how many years will it take until
my blood stops fizzing acidic every time I’m reminded
of the lack of you and I, as though it never was.

I can’t leave myself behind
adventurous but lonely and I’m standing on the table
in the middle of the room, happy birthday to you.
I’m  royal, blazing regal, on the day that we all
lost ourselves in wonder and spirits.
The ghost of my dignity haunts me each time
I post online, but I am burning burning
clock  hands turning,
and I can’t leave
myself
behind.

Leave a Reply

