Get a little more proud

Each time I see myself reflected
I am caught unaware, but at times
I can pour cement to my spine and stand tall
with “you’re welcome” to those who get the chance
to be around me.

Love yourself like a Norse God
steeped in possibility and strong enough
to hold hopes high for years to come.
Love yourself like a three year old
on fire with self celebration the absolute second
a mirror is introduced.

Love yourself the way
you know that you deserve. Like half
a tub of ice cream and candlelit baths.
Like eating on time. Letting yourself sleep.
Avoiding the abuse and touching
yourself instead.

3 thoughts on “Get a little more proud

Leave a Reply

